970 McHenry Avenue, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC

Call Today for Your FREE Consultation

Call Us800-338-3833 | 815-338-3838

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

What Happens If I Drive While My License is Suspended or Revoked?

Posted on in Traffic Offenses

McHenry County criminal defense attorneyMost people drive on a daily basis. Losing your driving privileges can be a huge inconvenience. Many people subject to driver’s license revocations and suspensions are worried that their inability to drive will interfere with work and family responsibilities.

However, driving any vehicle is unlawful when your license is suspended or revoked. Driving on a suspended or revoked license can lead to criminal charges and significant penalties.

Understanding Driver’s License Suspensions and Revocations

An individual’s driver’s license may be suspended if he or she is arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or receives three or more moving violations in a 12-month period. Possession of a fake driver’s license, leaving the scene of an accident, and several other offenses may also be punished by driver’s license suspension. Driver’s license suspensions eventually end and the driver can reinstate their license at the end of the suspension period by paying a moderate fee.

A conviction for DUI, drag racing, or other criminal offenses involving a motor vehicle may lead to a driver’s license revocation. If your license is revoked, you will need to attend a Secretary of State hearing and request license reinstatement.

Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License

If your license is suspended or revoked, it is illegal for you to drive any car, truck, van, or motor vehicle. If the police catch you driving, you may be arrested and charged with a Class A misdemeanor. A conviction for driving on a suspended or revoked license is punishable by up to a year in hail and a maximum fine of $2,500. If your license was suspended or revoked for DUI, driving without a valid license is also punishable by mandatory jail time or community service.

If the police catch you driving on a suspended or revoked license a second time, you face felony charges. A second violation is a Class 4 felony punishable by 1-3 years in jail and a maximum fine of $25,000.

Options for Getting Back on the Road Legally

Individuals with suspended or revoked licenses may be able to get back on the road legally through a special driving permit. A Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) may be available to first-time DUI offenders subject to a statutory summary suspension.

A restricted driving permit (RDP) may be available to people with two or more DUIs who need to drive for work or other legitimate reasons. If your license is suspended or revoked, you have options. Do not create further legal trouble for yourself by driving with a suspended or revoked license in violation of the law.

Contact a Crystal Lake Criminal Defense Lawyer

Our McHenry County criminal defense attorneys can help you defend yourself against DUI, driving without a valid license, and other criminal charges. We can also help you apply for an RDP or MDDP so you can get back on the road legally. Call our office at 815-338-3838 for a free consultation.

 

Source:

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=062500050K6-303

Illinois State Bar Association State Bar of Wisconsin Crystal Lake Chamber of Commerce Illinois Trial Lawyers Association McHenry County Bar Association
Back to Top